Book REVIEW: Emma by Jane Austen

INFORMATION

9780141192475-ukTitle:  Emma
Series:  –
Author: Jane Austen
Publisher:  Penguin Classics
Published:  October 2009
Language:  English
Format:  Hardback
Pages:  474
ISBN: 9780141192475

***********************************************************************

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

Genre: Classic, Romance, Adult.
Average Goodreads rating: 3.98

‘I never have been in love; it is not my way, or my nature; and I do not think I ever shall.’

Beautiful, clever, rich – and single – Emma Woodhouse is perfectly content with her life and sees no need for either love or marriage. Nothing, however, delights her more than interfering in the romantic lives of others. But when she ignores the warnings of her good friend Mr. Knightley and attempts to arrange a suitable match for her protegee Harriet Smith, her carefully laid plans soon unravel and have consequences that she never expected. With its imperfect but charming heroine and its witty and subtle exploration of relationships, Emma is often seen as Jane Austen’s most flawless work

***********************************************************************

MY REVIEW

My Rating and General Opinion

5***

So many feelings, and all of them good!! I don’t know what to say just that it was a cute, enjoyable and beautiful story with a great amount of different colorful characters!! It’s been such a long time since I read any Austen work, and have I missed it…

The Writing

The writing, as any Austen work was magical in its own way and so joyful and enjoyable that it was hard to put down.

The Story

For starters I thought it was gonna begin in a happier note, but still with some mentions here and there I was practically sold.

The first half of the book was quite picturesque were we got to know more of the central circle surrounding the Woodhouse family and house and especially little wicked Emma Woodhouse.

On the second half with the introduction of new characters and the unravelling of Emma’s previous valentine works things got heated up in all fronts. There, for a moment, I was completely heartbroken! But of course with it being an Austen novel, it had to end in a happy note.

The best part the Emma & Mr. Knighley interactions… those were some jewels!

The Characters

The group of character that Miss Austen created for this novel is unbelievably colorful! Its one of them has their own character so well drawn and so different to others that usually causes some clashes between them.

Emma got to my nerves sometimes, I won’t lie. She was nice enough and you can see how she didn’t really do things out of malice but still her ego got the best of her at times, especially when treating with Mr. Knighley, who had a lot of patience to deal with her.

I finally understand all of the praise for Mr. Knightley and I am also onboard!! He is such a good character! He is correct for those times but also I see he could adapt easily to this century and the dinamic he has with Emma is so cute. They are like brother & sister in some ways but not completely as you’ll find out.

And for the rest of them… every single one of them brought something to the plate, even Miss Bates, who ennerved me countless times (she just wouldn’t shut up!)

img_20160722_184149

Pride & Prejudice might be a milestone of mine, but I enjoyed Emma so much that I cannot put it in words. And a found it a very typical story that could be translated to nowadays without much of a change!!

One thought on “Book REVIEW: Emma by Jane Austen

Leave a Reply

