Book REVIEW: Confess by Colleen Hoover

INFORMATION

22609310Title:  Confess
Series:  –
Author: Colleen Hoover
Publisher:  Simon & Schuster UK
Published:  March 2015
Language:  English
Format:  Paperback
Pages:  308
ISBN: 9781471148590

***********************************************************************

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, NA.
Average Goodreads rating: 4.26

Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…

***********************************************************************

MY REVIEW

My Rating and General Opinion

4.25*

What a sandwich of a book! Yes, a sanwhich.

The Writing

This woman’s ability to write… is impressing me, because even if I don’t get 100% in the story, her writing totally drives me forward.

The Story

This book started out as sad as it could but also as cute as it could, and that final twist at the end… I was expecting something like it but not as fateful as it turned out to be.
Like I was saying, this book started and ended in the cutest and most melancholicall way, but what you found in the middle (the meat of the sandwich) was pure soap opera, very much like a tv-movie

I really liked the story it just didn’t get to me as November 9 did.
I am gonna say the best part of this book, apart from Owen of course, is the art, the physical art that appears in this book, the fact of the importance of the art itself in the book/characters and the whole idea of Owen’s inspiration=confessions!! That got me so hocked into the story, and maybe think about it being a reality somewhere, because I finds it so curious!!

The Characters

Autumn, I could not be any sorries for this girl, what a life she had to go through. I just wouldn’t have known what to do in her case, at least what legal thing to do. I felt so much for this woman and I am glad the progress of her storyline. Still around the middle of the book, when all of the soap opera is begg¡inning she should have done things differently and put some distance between her and some  disgusting folks, there were better ways to approach that family than the way she did it…

Owen, what a character, what a crush I had on him! It looked as if he could do no wrong and maybe he really couldn’t 😉

Notable mention to Emery… I wasn’t expecting much from her given her personality, which I didn’t find strange but sincere and without filter as hell (which brought a lot of laughs!), but she surprised me at the end being able to control that other piece of shit!

Last mention, I don’t undertsnad how a family like that could have brought up the sweet soul we met at the beginning  of the story.

img_20160723_143225

Highly recommend it!!

I’m starting to think Colleen Hoover has a super power when it comes to creating male characters…. because Owen… is too good to be true!!

Leave a Reply

