Book REVIEW: Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen

INFORMATION

f17597e222ce7885da7bb56bbe031eebTitle:  Northanger Abbey
Series:  –
Author: Jane Austen
Publisher:  Penguin Classics
Published:  November 2011
Language:  English
Format:  Hardback
Pages:  254
ISBN:  99780141197715

***********************************************************************

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

Genre: Classic, Romance, Gothic, Adult.
Average Goodreads rating: 3.79

During an eventful season at Bath, young, naïve Catherine Morland experiences the joys of fashionable society for the first time. She is delighted with her new acquaintances: flirtatious Isabella, who shares Catherine’s love of Gothic romance and horror, and sophisticated Henry and Eleanor Tilney, who invite her to their father’s mysterious house, Northanger Abbey. There, her imagination influenced by novels of sensation and intrigue, Catherine imagines terrible crimes committed by General Tilney. With its broad comedy and irrepressible heroine, this is the most youthful and and optimistic of Jane Austen’s works.

***********************************************************************

MY REVIEW

My Rating and General Opinion

4.25*

Certainly my expectations where maybe to high for this novel, as it starting in such a great way and finishing in a happy note still was lucking something because I didn’t completely get into it.

The Writing

The writing, as any Austen work more than pleasant and perfect I love how she tells the story as a narrator getting in and out of it. But the main problem of it, I see, is the clear separation or kinda lack of continuity between volumes I and II.

The Story

The story in itself was so promising with a bit of a ghotic vibe to it… or at least that’s what I was expecting.
The first volume is so Austen… the story in bath, the relationship between the characters, everything is enjoyable and I really got into it.
The second volume in the other hand was the one I was mostly expecting too and I didn’t see a clear evolution of Catherine’s character, more like I wanted to hit some sense into her and she even got to annoy me in more than one occasion.
Like I said before, I didn’t see a continuation, even an evolution in the story that went from austen-universe to gothic-nonsense-universe. It was sudden and I got somewhat confused.

The Characters

The characters, as almost always, were the best part of the story. I know I always tend to favour the male characters… and it is the case again, because Mr. Tilney was really a gentleman, funny, charming and so eloquent that I certainly wouldn’t mind his looks and we shouldn’t forget about Mr. Allen either, even if his part wasn’t that big, he certainly made an impression on me.
Then on the opposite side we would have Mr. Thorpe and General Tilney (I won’t even mention Capitan Tilney because I didn’t really hate him or anything, he was simply a player)… disgusting is the single word that comes to mind.
On the female case we had a bit of everything, what a colorful cast Miss Austen gave us!
Starting from the completely empty Mrs. Aleen, which I didn’t care about.
Then the oh so sad Isabella Thorne, which deserved everything that came her way for being such a bitch.
Then Miss Tilney whose sweetness and proper manner got to me and I wish I would have known more about her and yes about her love life. I think this character was poorly treated because she was such an intelligent and good influence in our heroine that she deserved more of her own storyline.
And then we’ve got our heroine Catherine Morland, good natured as only she could be, but mostly given her uncultured state of mind. Even if the description at the beggining leaves her in a quite stupid and plain way I find her endearing and charming and not empty precisely, more like a bit stupid yes. But then (in volume II) she starts throwing up such nonsensical conclusions that you could think she’s gone crazy or who knowS what, because it doesn’t become her character at all. Everything starts to go a bit with her from that point on… still she ends up with the happy ending I think she deserved, which I think she’ll gain a lot from.

img_20161024_181308

Still I enjoyed it plenty and would recommend it, even if it’s not the best Austen work I’ve read til date.

Leave a Reply

