Book REVIEW: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

INFORMATION

iewu.jpgTitle:  It Ends With Us
Series:  –
Author: Colleen Hoover
Publisher:  Simon & Schuster UK
Published:  August 2016
Language:  English
Format:  Paperback
Pages:  376
ISBN: 9781471156267

***********************************************************************

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, NA.
Average Goodreads rating: 4.58

SOMETIMES THE ONE WHO LOVES YOU IS THE ONE WHO HURTS YOU THE MOST

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up – she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan – her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

With this bold and deeply personal novel, Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. It Ends With Us is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.

This book contains graphic scenes and very sensitive subject matter…

***********************************************************************

MY REVIEW

My Rating and General Opinion

3.75*

First of all I went with this book not reading anything at all, because I didn’t want to spoil myself with all the buzz it was having.

The story must have been really hard to write and really real to read and experience so for that all of my support and congratulations go to the author.

The Writing

The writing was like Colleen’s other books I’ve read, truly relatable and real. I didn’t feel like I was part of the story, like I was inside (it didn’t get to me in that way), but still I enjoyed the style and the use of those entries to tell us the past were the best part. Those entries held the most of emotions, maybe because they were coming from a 15 yo!hehe Those were unique, and the story being them, oh Ellen, and the references to Dory from finding Nemo?? yes, just yes.

The Story

The storyline is grey as it can get. I don’t really know how to describe it without spoilering so I’ll just stick to the general feeling.
It is a dark theme but I didn’t find this book as dark as it should probably had been, it was still difficult to read but not because of what was happening, at least not for me, more because of what was lot in the process, in their future that should had been. The way the past was brought to the present to correlate both realities was a good touch, which made you understand everything more clearly and how it was understandable that it had to “end with them”.
And that highly anticipated epilogue left me with a smile on my face, finally!!

The Characters

The characters were real and ideal.
Reading the note from Colleen at the end of the book, I see she intended R to be such an especimen you would fall for from the beggining of the story, so I guess that makes me special because I have some kind of radar… From the beggining I liked him OK, yes, but I saw him a bit to perfect on paper and that made my alarm in the back of my mind turned on and screamed (I didn’t know what the book was about then, so I really didn’t know why I was having these feelings).
I also had mixed feelings about Lily. Young Lily I enjoyed and respected, adult Lily not so much, she had her moments… I did enjoy her but still there were some crucial moments when I couldn’t understand/respect her (and I am not talking about “those” moments, which I can talk about, but not having been in the situation I cannot say I would have done differently). The fact that she appeared so in control of herself and proud at moments and then as quickly will fall for this person with such ease…
And then, there’s A, the best part of this story, I loved the entries were we got to know more of him, and he is such a good and rich character, the idyllic part of this book came completely from him. I am in awe.
The rest of the characters were a good addition.

img_20160913_161213

Even if I don’t feel like reading it again and I didn’t feel for it as much as I thought I would, I’d still recommend you to read it, because it helps to open up your eyes.

Leave a Reply

