Book REVIEW: Timeless by Gail Carriger

INFORMATION

11324166Title:  Timeless
Series:  The Parasol Protectorate #5
Author:  Gail Carriger
Publisher: Orbit
Published:  March 2012
Language:  English
Format:  eBook
Pages:  416
ISBN: 9780316194006

***********************************************************************

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

Genre: Fantasy, Steampunk, Romance, Adult.
Average Goodreads rating: 4.11

Alexia Tarabotti, Lady Maccon, has settled into domestic bliss. Of course, being Alexia, such bliss involves integrating werewolves into London High society, living in a vampire’s second best closet, and coping with a precocious toddler who is prone to turning supernatural willy-nilly. Even Ivy Tunstell’s acting troupe’s latest play, disastrous to say the least, cannot put a dampener on Alexia’s enjoyment of her new London lifestyle.

Until, that is, she receives a summons from Alexandria that cannot be ignored. With husband, child and Tunstells in tow, Alexia boards a steamer to cross the Mediterranean. But Egypt may hold more mysteries than even the indomitable Lady Maccon can handle. What does the vampire Queen of the Alexandria Hive really want from her? Why is the God-Breaker Plague suddenly expanding? And how has Ivy Tunstell suddenly become the most popular actress in all the British Empire?

***********************************************************************

MY REVIEW

My Rating and General Opinion

4.75*

Shifting times indeed…

I would have given it a 5 because it kept me gripped, but even if the biggest “Plague” plot was left finished I still felt that Templars were too poorly used and missed them in this last installment.

The Writing

Yes! Just yes!! This whole series has had a great writing style that made me fell in love with Steampunk, Victorian era and this Gang/Entourage/Little club, call it what you want, they are simply part of my family now.

The Story

The story picked up quickly right from the beggining, with promising adventures, new landscapes and quite a bit of intrigue. I must confess too, I didn’t see some things/betrayals coming but that I was also greatly surprised by a new relationship forming and by the end of a beloved character…haha Great ending for that character!! Wouldn’t, in a million years, have imagined that happening!!hahaha
And about our beloved beasty…. he made my suffer too much… I am not gonna say more, but I loved his reasoning at the end and the impact his decisions would cause in the London Pack.

The Characters

Character wise, we have more than enough with the troop that we already know, so we didn’t get introduced to many new characters, at least none of real impact.
I would have loved to know more of the queen, or her origins and more of her story after all because she was presented and used as a plot but not much surfaced from there.
Floote, the one that charmed me from book 1,with Professor Lyall. What surprises you brought to the table.
Talking about the professor… I am sorry for what happened in the past and for the new situation but still I feel like in this last one we got to know him more, in more private ways, and got to enjoy more of him through the new pup too.
I cannot wait to start with the Custard Protocol… because if Alexia was something little Prudence… she could bring the Apocalypse!! I am sure!!

img_20160927_144603

I would recommend this book and the whole Parasol Protectorate Series, I must confess it has become a guilty pleasure of mine!

Who’s ready now form Prudence adventures?? I’m all in!!

Leave a Reply

