BOOK REVIEW: Our Demons, Best Friends by Diana T. Scott

INFORMATION

9781511942867-esTitle:  Our Demons, Best Friends
Series:  Half of Me Series #1
Author:  Diana T. Scott
Publisher:  Self published
Published:  May 2015
Language:  English
Format:  Paperback
Pages:  326
ISBN: 9781511942867

***********************************************************************

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, NA.
Average Goodreads rating: 4.16

If the perfect world existed, Ava and Sebastian would be in it, in love. But in this world, they are both closely watched by their demons. Their baggage is not light: Ava has hers carefully folded in vacuum bags to occupy as little room as possible; Sebastian wears his like a lead armor that makes him slouch sometimes. They like each other, but how are their demons going to get along?

Ava spent half her life being a twin. Ever since her sister died, she has tried to live for the both of them and rarely allows herself to feel the pain that is still very much present. Although Sebastian is a few years older, his medical residency got postponed because of his own tragedy. Now all he does is take life one day at a time, never wondering if there might be something more for him out there. Until Ava comes along and shows him how, against all logic, the pain can make them whole again.

***********************************************************************

MY REVIEW

My Rating and General Opinion

4.5*

Don’t ask my why I had such expectations for this book, because I really don’t know. And I especially hate hospitals and those environments… but there was something about the synopsis and that cover (*love*) that completely caught my eye.

The worst thing about this book, I must say, is the length of it all. it felt too short and I already want more from these characters.

The Writing

The writing was so neutral and easy too follow and it kept you wanting for more… I wasn’t really able to stop myself a lot! It really did have something especial, you feel right from the beginning as you get into the characters and the world that surrounds them.

The Story

I was scared to be let down by all of the “demons” references the main characters had, but it ended up being on point. This was mainly such a natural and real story and experience and I could relate to it because the reality of it was so palpable. I would have liked for it to be longer so that the final stage could have been extended, with more details, and a bit more of drama I won’t lie!!hehe

The Characters

The characters were lovable but still real [ I am sorry for all of the “real/reality” I am using!!hehehe].
Ava was described at the beggining like more of a soft, neutral, less vivid character but after what happened you can clearly see she took some of the Other’s facets and grew too be such a lively character!!
What I am gonna say about the Greek God?? hahaha Nothing but that I completely understood where he came from. Even if his actions in the end didn’t make sense, not even to him, I understand why he acted that way (I probably, most certainly, would have done the same thing). And everything ended in a happy note so that only makes me happier!! “After the clouds, the sky is always blue”
And to finish with the entourage of doctors that accompanied our main characters…. I am so excited to get more out of Em in the next book!! She seems like “the sun”, one of those people that literally brighten up your day just by being in it!! But not only her, just like Ava, I was also doubtful about Collin at the beggining… But I think my opinion will completely change in th e next book! And the new couple…. it was meant to happen… I knew it!!

img_20160929_153331

I would recommend this one, such a quick and enjoyable read. You will read it in a sitting and you will enjoy every single part of it!!

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Our Demons, Best Friends by Diana T. Scott

Leave a Reply

