Book REVIEW: Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding

 INFORMATION

descargaTitle:  Bridget Jones’s Diary
Series:  Bridget Jones #1
Author:  Helen Fielding
Publisher:  Picador
Published:  2014
Language:  English
Format:  Paperback
Pages:  310
ISBN: 9781447288930

***********************************************************************

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

Genre: Chick-Lit, Romance, Contemporary, Adult.
Average Goodreads rating: 3.74

Meet Bridget Jones—a 30-something Singleton who is certain she would have all the answers if she could:

a. lose 7 pounds
b. stop smoking
c. develop Inner Poise

“123 lbs. (how is it possible to put on 4 pounds in the middle of the night? Could flesh have somehow solidified becoming denser and heavier? Repulsive, horrifying notion), alcohol units 4 (excellent), cigarettes 21 (poor but will give up totally tomorrow), number of correct lottery numbers 2 (better, but nevertheless useless)…”

Bridget Jones’s Diary is the devastatingly self-aware, laugh-out-loud daily chronicle of Bridget’s permanent, doomed quest for self-improvement — a year in which she resolves to: reduce the circumference of each thigh by 1.5 inches, visit the gym three times a week not just to buy a sandwich, form a functional relationship with a responsible adult, and learn to program the VCR.

***********************************************************************

MY REVIEW

My Rating and General Opinion

3.75*

And entertaining book, better said, an entertaining character: Bridget Jones. I found more than I wanted in common with her, which scared me but I know how to put humour into things just like her!!

The Writing

I had some problems with the writing, because of that particular english language, but otherwise I liked it, you have Bridget’s perspective completely, even when drunk!!haha

The Story

The story of course had to be part of a series, because even if a year goes by in mere 300 pages, you will get Bridget hangover in need of more of this character’s adventures! The story in itself was OK, mainly wmpresenting us with the characters and the singleton perspective of a 30 yo woman and her entourage.

The Characters

Bridget… oh Bridget… Our beloved female specimen, who inspired and made such serious (even if not that serious) problems laughable!! She surprised me at the beggining not falling for it at first chance, but later on she fell… It was meant to happen, cause you only learn from your mistakes.
I missed Mark Darcy for most part of the book, that’s my biggest disappointment, but he gained in practically at the end of the book. And every scene of his just put a smile on my face! Even that last one, which I wasn’t exactly expecting (me having imagined more of an English approach to courtship) 🙂
In the other hand, damn Daniel was even in the soup!! He was there for more than half of the book and I the writer didn’t even try to make him appealing… you could see they were all lies… Not only he was Douchy but he was also pedantic and I hated the way he treated Bridget, undermining making her seems like a dumb ass!
The most unnerving character of all?? (and there was more than one) The holy grail mother of Bridget?? What was wrong with that woman!!! My nerves were on edge every time she appeared!! (And did she have to appear that much?!?) With this character is were I saw most clearly the reference to P&P… both mothers and their nerves… completely making the reader crazy!!
Apart from these three the rest of the entourage had to be mentioned too, each of them bringing something different, but real, to the plate.

img_20161003_120628

I would recommend the book? yes. But I still found the movie more endearing, funny and everything!! The’re had been really changes into some characters but still, completely love the movie!

***********************************************************************

LET’S GET SUPERFICIAL

We know covers are essential to booklovers, they are the first thing that grabs our attention so here I go!

This book’s quirkiness provides some serious cover art and some serious disasters…

I own myself the photographied cover. I decided to go with these Picador editions because I really liked the fonts in the covers (and yes, paired with the third one they match perfectly! There nothing worse than unpaired books…), their bright colors and the simplicity of the rest.

Here are some covers that can be found around the world. Which ones do you like best?

My favorite one has to be that especial edition from penguin!! The portuuguese one is quite funny, I don’t really see Bridget in the dutch edition but still is quite original and I hate the swedish one!! And don’t feel anything special towards the finnish or the indonesian ones…

One thought on “Book REVIEW: Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding

Leave a Reply

