Book REVIEW: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

INFORMATION

9781780622262-usTitle:  Shadow and Bone
Series:  The Grisha Trilogy #1
Author:  Leigh Bardugo
Publisher:  Indigo
Published:  July 2014
Language:  English
Format:  Paperback
Pages:  308
ISBN: 9781780622262

***********************************************************************

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

Genre: Fantasy, Dystopian, YA.
Average Goodreads rating: 4.06

The Shadow Fold, a swathe of impenetrable darkness, crawling with monsters that feast on human flesh, is slowly destroying the once-great nation of Ravka.

Alina, a pale, lonely orphan, discovers a unique power that thrusts her into the lavish world of the kingdom’s magical elite – the Grisha. Could she be the key to unravelling the dark fabric of the Shadow Fold and setting Ravka free?

The Darkling, a creature of seductive charm and terrifying power, leader of the Grisha. If Alina is to fulfil her destiny, she must discover how to unlock her gift and face up to her dangerous attraction to him.

But what of Mal, Alina’s childhood best friend? As Alina contemplates her dazzling new future, why can’t she ever quite forget him?

Glorious. Epic. Irresistible. Romance. Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and Laini Taylor.

***********************************************************************

MY REVIEW

My Rating and General Opinion

3.5*

I liked this book. I thought somehow I was going to be more moved, but still it was a good read. The best part about it was definitely the world Leigh created.

The Writing

The writing moves you forward till you are not able to stop, so that’s a good thing!! But still it had something missing because I didn’t found it gripping.

The Story

The story moves slowly right up until the last third of the book, then everything comes suddenly, but not so much unexpectedly.
I really like the whole world we were presented with, the normal human beings, the grisha and its different types… although I got confused quite a bit with all of the different types and names they used, I guess in some kind of Russian.

The Characters

Character wise i liked our heroine Alina, but I won’t deny she got a bit spoiled while staying in the Little Palace… I preferred the original version of Alina! But I liked her best when in company of the man himself, Mal, and the way he could light her up. This two, I do ship!! From the beggining! Alina made some stupid choices… like with the stag… even thought at the end the result was as intended (I thought that the power was gonna be hers, because saving or trying to save someone has to count as does kulling it, when they put the collar on and was disappointed!) she should have gone ahead with the kill sorry… but then I guess the story could have ended in just one book…
I was kinda spoiled from the beggining about the Darkling character, him being described as a villain and all… But still I could see that villainous thing… I never liked him!! he might be cool, handsome and really powerful but did anyone ship him with Alina?? Please!! A teen with a hundreds of years old guy?? I don’t even care how he looks, just no!
Also remarkable appearances like Genya’s, who reminded me of Effie from The Hunger Games and Zoya, aka stupid brat.
And am I the only one who is curious about the younger missing prince?? Because ever since they talked about him I’ve had that thing in the back of my mind…

img_20161012_124412

The beat of this book?? The world in itself! The whole complex world with its different inhabitants… just marvelous!

One thought on “Book REVIEW: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Leave a Reply

