Book REVIEW: Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

INFORMATION

9781780621708-usTitle:  Siege and Storm
Series:  The Grisha Trilogy #2
Author:  Leigh Bardugo
Publisher:  Indigo
Published:  June 2014
Language:  English
Format:  Paperback
Pages:  381
ISBN: 9781780621708

***********************************************************************

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

Genre: Fantasy, Dystopian, YA.
Average Goodreads rating: 4.10

The Darkling cupped my cheek with his hand, and when he spoke, his voice was almost tender. ‘This is just the beginning,’ he whispered.

Alina thought she could run from her past and escape her destiny. She can’t.

Mal hoped he’d done enough to protect the girl he loved. He hadn’t.

The Darkling, more powerful than before, is hungry for revenge. He needs Alina.

Soon Alina must choose between her country, her power, and the man she loves — or risk losing everything to the oncoming storm.

***********************************************************************

MY REVIEW

My Rating and General Opinion

3.75*

This one has been fast paced and with some good action!! But still no big surprises. The 4.25 goes for Alina’s entourage!!! 🙂 🙂
I enjoyed it more than the first one but still didn’t find myself completely submerged in this grisha world…
Not disappointing but I guess I was hoping for a big surprise or something big to happen to set the mood for the last installment and nothing did.

The Writing

The same as The Grisha #1, an OK writing but not compelling enough.

The Story

The story started out presenting us with very colorful and new characters, full of surprises, and a pirate-like adventure! (The main two characters clearly had no shot at having a normal and peaceful life… it didn’t last long at all!)
Then the story turned softer and note dramatic with relationship developing here and there, some entertaining, some saddening but it still was what needed to happen in order for Alina to evolve Sankta Alina!!
And then, as soon as it all began, it ended (thanks to a super intelligent prince), not with a bang but a wimper!! But I have to admit that it surprised me when she went for his arms, I didn’t understand anything, and suddenly… bang! (of course she couldn’t have rationalized this before… a bridge works both ways Alina, both ways!!)

When are we gonna learn?? NEVER give your back to your enemy, and NEVER leave if you are not certain of his demise!!!!

The Characters

We have got our martyr Alina, which even if I like her I must admit I am growing tired of, not so much her companions, I am all about Sturmhond, Mal, Tamar & Tolya and David!!!
And just let me say I am a tad disappointed in The Darkling… he might be super powerful but I still find him pathetic! don’t ask me why, I just know he is a villain and that he can create chaos and destroy everything, but I am not scared, I find him pathetic and I pitty him.

img_20161016_105901

One thought on “Book REVIEW: Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

Leave a Reply

