Book REVIEW: Persuasion by Jane Austen

INFORMATION

33015f592e2df5469af01b40b3b24ea1Title:  Persuasion
Series:  –
Author: Jane Austen
Publisher:  Penguin Classics
Published:  April 2012
Language:  English
Format:  Hardback
Pages:
AISBN:  99780141197715

***********************************************************************

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

Genre: Classic, Romance, Adult.
Average Goodreads rating: 4.13

At twenty-seven, Anne Elliot is no longer young and has few romantic prospects. Eight years earlier, she had been persuaded by her friend Lady Russell to break off her engagement to Frederick Wentworth, a handsome naval captain with neither fortunenor rank. What happens when they encounter each other again is movingly told in Jane Austen’s last completed novel. Set in the fashionable societies of Lyme Regis and Bath, Persuasion is a brilliant satire of vanity and pretension, but, above all,it is a love story tinged with the heartache of missed opportunities.

***********************************************************************

MY REVIEW

My Rating and General Opinion

3.5*

I was to unsure as how I should rate this one… I found it to dull… meh… whatever you want to call it.

The Writing

The writing was still good because Austen can do no wrong in that aspect. and I really do enjoy her writing even if sometimes I find it a bit confusing (after all English is not myother language…).

The Story

The story was too slow, not enough actions or emotions, at least not until the very last of part 2 where of course everything rounded up in a big closure.

The plot is too simple for my taste. The story follows Anne life, her family (completely pathetic) leaves for bath, she spends a bit of time on the country with one sister and her family and then finally goes to bath, new acquaintances here and there and that’s it. Oh, and her long lost first live comes back to the picture.

The Characters

The worst about this book I found to be the characters. Non of them completely likeable or interesting and this novel was so full of mean girls that I lost count…
For starters of course our heroine has to be Anne, she is not mean (like all of the rest) but she is simply such a dull character, a bit like a zombie nowadays… I liked her, I liked the way she thought and approved of her but she was simply boring, too boring.
Then we’ve got our “Disney prince” well…. it’s not that I disliked him, mainly because I didn’t really care about him! At least not until the ending of the book were we can finally really hear him talk and everything… Because as I would like to say that in a way I disliked him, it was not that, more like I didn’t knew him, because even from what Anne told us we really didn’t get to know him at all.

I would have love to have read this book in multiple POVs, but I know that wasn’t Austen’s style so…
The best characters in this one were the small ones, Anne’s old friend Mrs. Smith, and the men from the Musgrove group, with the Captains, and Admiral… those mean were much more appealing than any of the women!!

img_20161027_113959

So how would I rate this one between Austen novels?? Well it would be paired with Northanger Abbey but maybe a bit behind from it.

One thought on “Book REVIEW: Persuasion by Jane Austen

Leave a Reply

