BOOK REVIEW: Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver

INFORMATION

41kmtp5c7xl-_sx328_bo1204203200_Title: Vanishing Girls
Series:  –
Author:  Lauren Oliver
Publisher:  Harper Collins
Published:  March 2015
Language:  English
Format:  eBook
Pages:  368
ISBN: 9780062224125

***********************************************************************

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

Genre: Contemporary, Mystery, YA.
Average Goodreads rating: 3.59

New York Times bestselling author Lauren Oliver delivers a gripping story perfect for fans of We Were Liars and I Was Here, about two sisters inexorably altered by a terrible accident.

Dara and Nick used to be inseparable, but that was before the accident that left Dara’s beautiful face scarred and the two sisters totally estranged.

When Dara vanishes on her birthday, Nick thinks Dara is just playing around. But another girl, nine-year-old Madeline Snow, has vanished, too, and Nick becomes increasingly convinced that the two disappearances are linked. Now Nick has to find her sister, before it’s too late.

In this edgy and compelling novel, Lauren Oliver creates a world of intrigue, loss, and suspicion as two sisters search to find themselves, and each other.

***********************************************************************

MY REVIEW

My Rating and General Opinion

3.25*

What a story, and what a rollercoaster of an ending this one has. The story I mostly liked but just let me say the synopsis of this book completely lied, I was waiting for something that never happened… If you have read this book and read this synopsis don’t you feel the same way?

The Writing

The writing was ok, I didn’t find anything so especial about it but it was well paced and it animated you to continue reading, and the way of describing the characters, its personalities and the town and everything surrounding them I find them perfectly realistic and comprehensible. This is my first Lauren Oliver book and it won’t be the last.

The Story

I don’t want to spoil, and I find it’s so easy to do so so I’ll just say that I liked the story but I found it slow. In more than half of the book nothing really happens we just get to know the sisters, especially Nick (my favorite one) and then it all takes a macabre turned that leaves you questioning everything.
Reading the synopsis you would guess it’s about a dissapearance (more than one) and its consecutive search and development in a mystery/thriller way right?? Well, that’s not what you are going to get, which really dissapointed me. This one read more like a summerish contemporary YA with a little hint of a mystery and a twist at the end, so not what I was expecting when I decided to pick it up.
This could have work so much better is the writed would have centered the story around the mystery part, the crime and everything in between… there were more than one shady characters we only got a glimpse of! Damn I am so frustrated right now!

The Characters

The characters were a couple of sisters Nick (the responsible grown up) and Dara (the bratty little sister). Those mini descriptions actually sum everything up.
We have the older sister Nick, described as responsible, mature and basically the one that cleans up all of her little sisters shit, she likes to blend in the shadows and I respect that.
On the other hand we have Dara, the rebellious, live-hard play-hard type of girl who YES, likes to be the center of attention. She might have been this sweet little girl who idolized her big sister, but she no longer is that person.
Which of this two might I prefer you ask? Well no doubt Nick, even if in the inside she’s so fucked up too.
Then a long time friend of these two, Nick’s best friends appear to complicate things even more, just being a teenagers with his hormones all over the place so that was understandable too, I liked him, but he could have done more (or less).
Then we have key characters, key in the thriller part of this books which I don’t lie, it isn’t even there.

img_20161102_130017

I was gonna give this one a 3 tops but after that surprise, which I wasn’t expecting at all, I decided to give it a 3.25 because I find it hard for a book to really surprise me and that deserves something!

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver

Leave a Reply

