BOOK REVIEW: Reboot by Amy Tintera

INFORMATION

13517455Title: Reboot
Series:  Reboot #1
Author:  Amy Tintera
Publisher:  Harper Teen
Published:  May 2013
Language:  English
Format:  eBook
Pages:  365
ISBN: 9780062217097

***********************************************************************

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

Genre: Dystopian, SciFi, YA.
Average Goodreads rating: 3.92

In this fast-paced dystopian thrill ride, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games, Legend, and Divergent, a seventeen-year-old girl returns from death as a Reboot and is trained as an elite crime-fighting soldier . . . until she is given an order she refuses to obey.

Wren Connolly died five years ago, only to Reboot after 178 minutes. Now she is one of the deadliest Reboots around . . . unlike her newest trainee, Callum 22, who is practically still human. As Wren tries to teach Callum how to be a soldier, his hopeful smile works its way past her defenses. Unfortunately, Callum’s big heart also makes him a liability, and Wren is ordered to eliminate him. To save Callum, Wren will have to risk it all.

Wren’s captivating voice and unlikely romance with Callum will keep readers glued to the page in Amy Tintera’s high-stakes alternate reality.

***********************************************************************

MY REVIEW

My Rating and General Opinion

3.5*

The story was promising and interesting although not a new thing at all, but still enjoyable and a quick read. I wasn’t completely invested but it was a fun run!

The Writing

The writing was ok, typical YA you could say but I did have a problem at the beginning. I remembered this was supposed to be a story from the point of view of a girl, but the first chapter I found myself sure I was following a male, the way of thinking, of behaving… everything, so I really got confused. Usually I prefer books for a lone POV but I think this story could have been enriched by different POVs (178/22).

The Story

The story was ok but I found some similarities between this world and Mari Lu’s Legend world (although I still prefer this book to legend!!!) and between characters, because all of Callum’s ranting about not wanting to be controlled or forced to do anything he doesn’t want by HARC reminded me a lot of Suzanne Collins’s Peeta. And it also reminded me of The 5th wave… so yes a bit of a combo this one.
So, the story was a fun journey, and a new take on zombie-like apocalypse but I felt something was missing… it felt short and without a big plot or plot twist, so let’s hope the second part has more action and twists! And I also felt things were missing, explanations and back stories still out in the open… so I hope to get some closure and unanswered question and suspicions confirmed in the next installment.

The Characters

For once, I didn’t dislike any of the characters I actually liked them all even the “evil” ones!haha
Our badass female protagonist 178 was supposed to be this brainless, feeling less corpse, zombie, undead… (I don’t know how to call them) but she wasn’t as empty as the writer wanted us to think, I just wish I could have seen her even colder at the beginning so that we could have appreciated more her (too quick) evolution.
22, was fun, something to light up every situation, even the gross ones.
The character I felt most for was Ever, that little thing’s courage… But I really think I am gonna like Addie a lot…

matxi_books-1480519629250

This was a good fresh air book, because I was feeling in a bit of a slump previously!! i would recommend you give it a try if you like dystopian worlds.

5 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Reboot by Amy Tintera

  1. femaleinferno says:

    I’ve had ‘Reboot’ on my TBR forever. But I don’t like reading too many dystopian books close together… and they always come in a series. Definitely will get to it in the first half of next year. It keeps popping up in my recommendations, so it’s something that has been on my radar for years now…I’ll probably buy the whole series (‘Rebel’ and ‘Ruined’) and marathon them.
    Thanks for posting your review – I occasionally get buyers remorse and wonder if a book is worth reading if it stays on my shelf for too long.

    Liked by 1 person

    • matxi_books says:

      You had me all crazy for a moment!!haha This is a duology, Ruined is the start of her next trilogy from what I know!
      But yes I understand you, dystopian is one of my favorite genres, but reading all dystopian all the time… is not the best choice no, I hope you pick it up soon! It had been in my TBR for some time and I just remembered I had it and gave it a try, it wasn’t my best dystopian read either but it dfinitely got better!! So hopefully I’ll read your review soon!

      Like

Leave a Reply

