BOOK REVIEW: The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

 INFORMATION

13595639.jpgTitle:The Name of the Star
Series:  Shades of London #1
Author:  Maureen Johnson
Publisher:  G.P. Putnam’s Sons
Published:  October 2012
Language:  English
Format:  eBook
Pages:  372
ISBN: –

***********************************************************************

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

Genre: Mystery, Paranormal, Historical Fiction, YA.
Average Goodreads rating: 3.91

“New York Times” bestseller Maureen Johnson takes on Jack the Ripper in this captivating paranormal thriller!
The day that Louisiana teenager Rory Deveaux arrives in London to start a new life at boarding school is also the day a series of brutal murders breaks out over the city, killings mimicking the horrific Jack the Ripper spree of more than a century ago. Soon “Rippermania” takes hold of modern-day London, and the police are left with few leads and no witnesses. Except one. Rory spotted the man police believe to be the prime suspect. But she is the only one who saw him–the only one who can see him. And now Rory has become his next target. In this edge-of-your-seat thriller, full of suspense, humor, and romance, Rory will learn the truth about the secret ghost police of London and discover her own shocking abilities.

***********************************************************************

MY REVIEW

My Rating and General Opinion

4.25*

Nothing less for this addictive read!?

The Writing

The best thing about this book, apart from all of the Ripper talk was the writing! it really did have something that made this read ao addictive and hard to put down! i still don’t know what it was, but there was definitely something…

The Story

Storywise it was thrilling and it really did keep you entertaining and on edge at times (although yes, you knew who the Ripper was, but not really…).
But at the end it disappointed me a bit… All of the ripper talk and the murders were really interesting and the otherworldly appearances really did the trick in the story, but still I think by the end the plot should have kept its original (or what I thought was its original) way. Instead it suffered a blow, and things turned out to be not what you really were expecting… don’t get me wrong it was a good twist and maybe a better approach given the characters and the world that had been created, but still I missed my Ripper!

The Characters

I liked the different range of characters, very English you could say??hehe
I really enjoyed our main character, with her crazy gene pool and everything. She really did feel like a breath of fresh air to that greyish London school, but I foundation bit sit the way she ended up gaining her sight… don’t you think??
One thing that I saw coming but that still disappointed me was the relationship status change between the roommates. I saw that Rory&Jaz relationship as one so real and pure that I hated from the first moment the apparition of the third guest and how she turned everything built upside down… Even if at the end of the story I ended appreciating this other character I still missed how things were at the beginning.
And finally, surprisingly or not I really felt something for our “brain of operations”, I wouldn’t want to be in his positio , not an easy one and even less given his own story but still there is something so special, sad, tortured but pure inside that one character… that I cannot wait to learn more.

matxi_books-1480519819570.jpg

Yes, I would recommend you read this, it was a great read and a good retelling?? I don’t know if you could consider this a retelling, but it was good.

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

Leave a Reply

