BOOK REVIEW: Ghostly Echoes by William Ritter

INFORMATION

28110857.jpgTitle: Ghostly Echoes
Series:  Jackaby #3
Author:  William Ritter
Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers
Published:  August 2016
Language:  English
Format:  eBook
Pages:  304
ISBN: 9781616206574

***********************************************************************

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

Genre: Mystery, Paranormal, Fantasy, Historical Fiction, NA.
Average Goodreads rating: 4.15

“Tread lightly, Miss Rook,” warned Mr. Jackaby. “It would not do to push Miss Cavanaugh too far or too fast.”

Jenny Cavanaugh, the ghostly lady of 926 Augur Lane, has enlisted the investigative services of her fellow residents to solve a decade-old murder – her own. Abigail Rook and her eccentric employer, R. F. Jackaby, dive into the cold case, starting with a search for Jenny’s fiance, who went missing the night she died. But when a new, gruesome murder closely mirrors the events of ten years prior, Abigail and Jackaby realize that Jenny’s case isn’t so cold after all.

Fantasy and folklore mix with mad science as Abigail’s race to unravel the mystery leads her across the cold cobblestones of nineteenth-century New England, down to the mythical underworld, and deep into her colleagues’ grim histories to battle the most deadly foe she has ever faced.

Ghostly Echoes features its much-loved quirky, courageous characters and sly humor in the scariest and most exciting volume yet.

***********************************************************************

MY REVIEW

My Rating and General Opinion

4.25*

What is this!!! you decide to finish the third book in a cliffhanger?? I need more!!! The first two books might have been a but lacking but this one had it all!! It still had more than one in inconsistency but still yes!! give me more of this!!!

The Writing

The writing was on point again, easy to read and entertaining. The description even if sometimes had more flourishes than I’d liked was still there, perfect.

The Story

Like I said before, from moment one you were invested in the story (at least that was the case for me) because the plot of this books had been building up from book 1, at least that’s what I hoped!!Storywise this was packed. We got more evolution in our characters, we got to learn more about the house and the story that apparently rolls around those people and the town in itself. We especially got a lot of backstory about the characters and the world in itself. While I was reading I started remembering passages from Beautiful Creatures and especially TMI with all of that seelie/unseelie nonsense, which still I don’t have overly clear in my head. It was interesting, charming, not as funny as previous ones because this one was darker, addictive and a great read!

The Characters

Characterwise we got some new ugly blood mixed in with some interesting personalities.
Miss Rook didn’t let down, she was the total heroine and badass although a bit too generous and selfless. Being the only sane and completely human one of that mini bunch of hers played out to be key of course.
I got to see an evolution on Mr Jackaby that I liked. I can say now that I like him, it’s taken him 3 books but he finally opened up and left that Sherlock behaviour a bit behind (although is still part of his personality) and really showed his true colors which made me appreciate him in other light.
We got to meet Jenny, and I mean get to really know her and of her and that wasn’t disappointing at all! she finally was able to gain control of herself and her surroundings and surprised us, at least me, more than one! Chapeau!!
I loved to see Charlie back in action although I am still not completely OK with the way the writer is treating this characters… he’s using him merely as decorative backdrop mostly and I want more.

matxi_books-1480520036376

I completely recommend this one! I wasn’t such a huge fan of the first two, but this one is slightly different and I cannot wait to read what I think will be the conclusion of this series!

3 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: Ghostly Echoes by William Ritter

  1. Book Princess Review (@_bookprincess_) says:

    I am still super unclear about the Unseelie courts as well. o.o I really didn’t get it, but I just couldn’t wrap my head around. I did like seeing more into Jackaby’s life because you are right – he kind of felt just defined by his Sherlock attitudes and thoughts. Wonderful review, and I am intrigued what’s going to happen with this fourth one. :O

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

