BOOK REVIEW: I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh

INFORMATION

23125266 (1).jpgTitle:  I Let You Go
Series:  –
Author:  Clare Mackintosh
Publisher:  Sphere
Published:  November 2014
Language:  English
Format:  Paperback
Pages:  371
ISBN: 9780751554151

***********************************************************************

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Psychological Thriller, Adult.
Average Goodreads rating: 4.11

In a split second, Jenna Gray’s world descends into a nightmare. Her only hope of moving on is to walk away from everything she knows to start afresh. Desperate to escape, Jenna moves to a remote cottage on the Welsh coast, but she is haunted by her fears, her grief and her memories of a cruel November night that changed her life forever.

Slowly, Jenna begins to glimpse the potential for happiness in her future. But her past is about to catch up with her, and the consequences will be devastating . . .

***********************************************************************

MY REVIEW

My Rating and General Opinion

4.75*

I couldn’t have thought about a better way to finish this 2016, this book was absolutely fantastic and I’ve recommending it non stop since I finished it. From the beginning this book kept me in and I couldn’t slow the reading process.

The Writing

Without a doubt the best thing about this book was the writing. I cannot believe this was the Clare Mackintosh’s first novel because it really is a juicy one. I don’t know exactly how to describe what she brings to the table, but let me say this story is told by various POVs and even though it doesn’t say  whose point of view you are reading in each chapter, you clearly notice by the way it’s written. The different characters’ voices are so clear and so differentiable that I felt I was under some kind of spell while reading this.

The Story

[It’s really hard to ramble without spoiling anything, in some other type of novels it is easier but with this one I just want to shout my lungs out, that’s why I tried to keep this as brief as I could.]
Twists and turns… I wasn’t expecting to have these kind of surprises and emotions, but I did, and at times it really got hard to read (not because of the writing but because of whose mind we were in…) but I just had to keep reading because this was THAT entertaining. Just a fair warning, this book gets dark, really dark at times.
The story begins with a real sad event, an accident that shatters more than one life. On one hand, we follow the life of Jenna, a woman who suffered and lost too much and we see how she starts to find herself once more in a new landscape, finally finding a home away from home. On the other hand we find a police DI (detective inspector) and his team trying to figure out what really happened in the event that starts this novel. Some surprises come along the way, and even at the ending of this book the author doesn’t stop surprising you because no, I was most definitely not expecting that the reason!
I visualized this novel like a three meal course. First, it starts slowly where you get to really meet the characters; then, you get hit with everything, coming so fast that you don’t know what’s going on and keep second guessing yourself every time some new information comes in; and for dessert, as if you would need that, you get the final bomb and you are just laying there, you cannot move and you just want to kick something/someone (at least that’s what happened to me).

The Characters

I felt the characters were really vivid and real. I could picture myself in the shoes of every main character pictured here, well with only one exception, I couldn’t imagine any sort of symbiosis between me and some unnamed character…
Jenna was really a free-spirited woman who had suffered so much that layers of her personality have flown away with the air, but still her essence was there and I was rooting for her.
Ray and Kate, did a remarkable job and although I got frightened with some of their actions I entered Ray’s life without much problem and I liked the way it was written giving us really a look of what goes behind the police life.
We had some other characters making appearances and specially one caught my attention as it will caught yours, I won’t spoil anything, I’ll just say, keep an open mind and yes hate as you please because I had such a huge amount of hatred heading in one direction that I couldn’t cope.

matxi_books-1481906388951.jpg

Bonus note: if you read the authors note at the ending of this book it gives even more meaning to the whole thing, although it didn’t really needed it.

I don’t know how else can I say it, but if you fancy the thriller/psychological thriller genre and if you are up to not having the best time (but enjoying it nonetheless) while reading I completely recommend this book to you. The writing is just too perfect not to read it!!

3 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh

Leave a Reply

