Calendar Girls: January

calendar-girls-icon

First of all for all of you who don’t know about this, it is a brand new tag created by Flavia @ Flavia the Bibliophile and Melanie @ Melanie Noell Bernard Books. It’s a monthly blog event inspired by Neil Sedaka’s 1961 song Calendar Girl, where every month a specific theme will be picked up and you’ll have to read a book you find fit into that theme and then incite discussions with other bloggers.

This first month’s theme is Best Debut Novel of 2016!!

So, when I was thinking about this theme in late december I had no idea because it turns out the majority of the books I read aren’t usually new books and most of all they turn out not to be debut novels, and a debut novel from 2016?? That was even harder. I had to check a lot of webs to see which books actually were released in 2016 and see if they were debuts… After a lot of thought I came to the conclusion that between my 2016 reads I only had one debut novel of the same year!! But it turns out this past week I read another one!! So now, how to choose between them? Well the mentioned books are Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco and The Girls by Emma Cline.

From the mentioned I would have liked to choose the last one but I won’t lie it doesn’t even come close to Manicalco’s opera prima!!

Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco (review) Well this damn book has made a lot of my lists this past year ever since I read it… so of course it had to win the price!! 🙂 🙂 😛

So yes this book wasn’t perfect but it was a hell of a rollercoaster ride!! And at least for me created the foundations for what could be a great series! Also a little bird told me the second book will be all about Dracula which takes us to another world = fantasy + vamps + badass female + charming douche male + travel + mystery = WIN WIN!!

Here’s a little synopsis for you:

Seventeen-year-28962906old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord’s daughter, with a life of wealth and privilege stretched out before her. But between the social teas and silk dress fittings, she leads a forbidden secret life.

Against her stern father’s wishes and society’s expectations, Audrey often slips away to her uncle’s laboratory to study the gruesome practice of forensic medicine. When her work on a string of savagely killed corpses drags Audrey into the investigation of a serial murderer, her search for answers brings her close to her own sheltered world.

The story’s shocking twists and turns, augmented with real, sinister period photos, will make this dazzling debut from author Kerri Maniscalco impossible to forget.

It is true that as I explained before I haven’t read a lot of debut novels, but the fact that I didn’t even remember this was one says a lot of its writing. In that department Kerri had her hands full, the story unveiled by itself and she made such a good job that I completely fell into her spell.

· · ·

Next month’s theme will be Best YA Romance!!

(I have no clue! Now… ;P)

6 thoughts on “Calendar Girls: January

Leave a Reply

