Musing Mondays: February 20

monday

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by The Purple Booker. This meme asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer each week:

I’m currently reading…
Up next I think I’ll read…
I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
I can’t wait to get a copy of…
I wish I could read ___, but…
I blogged about ____ this past week…

And then also proposes a random question.


This weeks random question is: Do you like new book smell? Old book smell? All book smell?


There goes another strange question, but nonetheless true, for this week. This is not a simple answer but for starters I’ll go with all book smell! Of course I love to smell books, I a still don’t know any bookworm who doesn’t! Do know the smell is a powerful sense, it activates all sort of things in our brains and this also applies for books.
In the case of new books, they have a more qumical touch to them but still, every time I get a new one and after absorbing all of its superficial beauty of the cover I proceed to smell it and… I hope it doesn’t sound as creepy as I am imagining it! 😂😂😂 Well were I was going with all of this senseless ranting is that I close my eyes I get the smell and I just imagine what the story will be like and for a couple of seconds the world seems to stop.
In the case of old books (if they have been treated properly) I also love to smell them, I not only go throw the same phases as with new books but this ones also have a presence and a story of their own to tell and I just feel mesmerized.
(Sorry for all of the babbling! :P)

– – –

For the not so random prompt, this week’s chosen one is Up next I think I’ll read… Pretty Baby by Mary Kubica. Yes, I am still going strong with the Lorien Legacies (currently on book #6) but today I’ll finally pick up this new thriller. I am buddy reading it with a friend and although Kubica’s first book wasn’t perfect I am still up, like always, for a thriller, so cannot wait! Have you read this one?? Any comments??

Here goes the synopsis:

A chance encounter sparks an unrelenting web of lies in this stunning new psychological thriller from national bestselling author Mary Kubica

She sees the teenage girl on the train platform, standing in the pouring rain, clutching an infant in her arms. She boards a train and is whisked away. But she can’t get the girl out of her head…

Heidi Wood has always been a charitable woman: she works for a nonprofit, takes in stray cats. Still, her husband and daughter are horrified when Heidi returns home one day with a young woman named Willow and her four-month-old baby in tow. Disheveled and apparently homeless, this girl could be a criminal—or worse. But despite her family’s objections, Heidi invites Willow and the baby to take refuge in their home.

Heidi spends the next few days helping Willow get back on her feet, but as clues into Willow’s past begin to surface, Heidi is forced to decide how far she’s willing to go to help a stranger. What starts as an act of kindness quickly spirals into a story far more twisted than anyone could have anticipated.

Leave a Reply

