Top 5 Wednesdays: Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump

118368

First of all let me explain a bit about this tag in case you don’t know about it. It’s a tag created by Samantha from Toughts on Tomes and Lainey from Ginger Reads Lainey and is a weekly book meme were a topic or theme is chosen and each week you have to choose five books/series/tvshows that fit the description. If you want to check it out here’s the Goodreads group.

·-·-·

#T5W: Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump

“Winter is a hard season for a lot of people and many of us are slumpy. Let’s talk about some books that are great for getting you out of a slump! “

·-·-·

1. Humorous autobiographies: This has been my go to strategy when I’ve found myself in a slump, just two months ago and let me tell you it paid off. It really did help me to renew my energy and my wanting to read once again. In december I got to read Lauren Graham’s “Talking as Fast as I Can” and Anna Kendrick’s “Scrappy little Nobody” and they gave me the final jump I needed to end the year in a happy note. Other mention worthy authors: Mindy Kaling, Amy Poehler, Tina Fey and the list can go on…

mindy-kaling-crazy-inspirational

2. Reread of favourite on audiobook: This is another easy option. Rereading a book in another format, like an audiobook, when you find yourself in a slump and you have no time to read because of the overload of work (guilty here), this is your scape route. Again this is what I chose this past summer when I was in a mix of slump-lazyness and I wanted to read but I didn’t actually want to open a book and read, so I marathoned VA again by audiobook. I am planning on doing the same thing with THG, I’ve been wanting to reread them for a long time, and this format I think that would be the perfect choice. Just relax, lay down and…

giphy-4-21

3. Reread of a favourite classic: For me no doubt that would be either P&P or Emma by Jane Austen or Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë. Sorry for being so repetitive. I know I’ve mentioned this books before (quite a lot)  but what can I say? They are special, to special not to name them again and again 😜

tumblr_mlli25sdui1r3rgoso2_500

4. Skinny/Comic books: I’ve kind of tried this one out but I just don’t own small books. This one would be a great option for those of you that enjoy reading graphic novels. If you don’t read them try picking up a lighter book from your bookshelves and this will help you read more books towards your final goal and leave the slump past you.

steve-jobs-comic-graphic-novel

5. Fellow Bookworm buddy read: You are not alone in this bookworm world, so either between your actual group of friends or your internet-friends you could find a book club. It doesn’t have to be a book club you created, there are tons on bookstagram and goodreads going around and if you want something more special you could talk to someone in particular and try to arrange a buddy read. This way you could comment and rant with someone while reading it along instead of doing it just by yourself.

giphy1

·-·-·

[All of the gifs in this post have been taken from google images]

10 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesdays: Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump

Leave a Reply

