Top 5 Wednesdays: Books You Felt Betrayed By

118368

First of all let me explain a bit about this tag in case you don’t know about it. It’s a tag created by Samantha from Toughts on Tomes and Lainey from Ginger Reads Lainey and is a weekly book meme were a topic or theme is chosen and each week you have to choose five books/series/tvshows that fit the description. If you want to check it out here’s the Goodreads group.

·-·-·

#T5W: Books You Felt Betrayed By

“Beware the Ides of March! What books (or characters) did you feel betrayed by, for whatever reason…big or small.”

·-·-·


1. Champion by Marie Lu:
 Well, I felt betrayed by this whole trilogy but most of all by the ending of this book. I won’t spoil anything I will just say that “cute” ending?¿? Nope, just nope. 

8548033

2. Breaking Dawn – Part 2: Are you of the believe that an image is worth a thousand words?? Well, I was a Twihard (yes, completely obsessed) and this scene down here… I felt this whole thing like a punch on my face, I won’t spoiler just in case, but those who’ve read or watched the movie know what I am talking about… 

original

3. The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins: First of all I wasn’t disappointed by this series but by a character from it. Gale. My lovely Gale… I don’t remember exactly when I started shipping Peeta and Katniss but it must have been by book 3. Until then I really believed in Gale, in who he was and what he believed in but he let revenge guide him and destroy him, so from where he started to where he ended… nope, I definitely felt betrayed by him.

19fef520-7428-0133-0c6d-0e34a4cc753d

4. Cassandra Clare: Book related but still my disappointed is linked to the author behind the Shadowhunter’s world herself, Cassandra Clare. I although ended up enjoying her continuation to TMI trilogy I still felt betrayed by her, just for writing it. Does it make any sense?? I just got the feeling this was simply something she did to gain more money, don’t know if it’s true or not, is just a personal feeling of mine. I still bought her books, and plan on getting and reading everything shadowhunter related but there’s something about her that just doesn’t… with me.

18488556

5. Penny Dreadful: Not technically a book but still, PD’s 3rd season and especially that finale was disappointing and I felt betrayed by all of the characters. I just wasn’t expecting that, yes, of course it was a possibility but Vanessa’s reasoning and fate… Just left me hollow. 

ef258c10e594e48142cd35230a86e308

[All of the gifs in this post have been taken from google images]

15 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesdays: Books You Felt Betrayed By

  1. ★ Bentley ★ says:

    I love that you mentioned Penny Dreadful. I am totally with you! Honestly, I know they said they ended it how they wanted to, but I really believe that Showtime cancelled the show halfway through the season. You can almost see where they totally shift gears and drop all of their plots 3 episodes from the end in order to wrap things up. Totally disappointing, because it was a masterpiece up until that point.

    Liked by 1 person

    • matxi_books says:

      Amen to all of what you said!! I didn’t like that much the way it started but by the end you could feel how they were moving too fast, forcing some stuff and when it finally ended I couldn’t believe what I was seeing… It kind of made sense yes, but still I was so angry!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Irena S. says:

    Oh, I forgot about Penny Dreadful, I was disappointed by the last season, too… The first season was so amazing, and then everything started going downhill. I really wanted it to get better again, but that ending was really just… NO!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • matxi_books says:

      Exactly!! The last one was a disappointment and the second one… Well I wasn’t completely on board with that witch scene, although we got to meet some great characters!! The first was definitely the best one!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. thereadingypsy says:

    My top betrayal at the moment is Cassius (and the author pierce brown in general). From the Red Rising trilogy. He broke my heart in book 1, kept me hating him in book 2 then broke my heart again in the beginning of book 3. Then i felt like the trilogy ended in a weird way so the author betrayed me too… Oh and i have to add the Divergent series to the list for the sucky ending.

    Like

Leave a Reply

