Book Haul: April

Welcome back!! Here is my april book haul!!!

You remember last month’s haul?? Well, I was able to control myself then, but not this time, because I ended up with 10 books on my hands! Apparently the less books I buy the more I read? That’s very counterproductive if it is indeed true, but looking at this month’s haul/wrap up, that’s the conclusion I got to! Another important this month is that I’ve already read three of the books mentioned here (one review is up already, and the rest are on their way!) and in no time I’ll pick up another one for a buddy read!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

IMG_20170428_104457_776

As you can see, genre wise I expanded myself this month.

First we’ve got the non fiction Wild by Cheryl Strayed which is something I’ve been eyeing for years now and although I wasn’t planning on getting the movie tie-in, there was a bargain on amazon that I simply couldn’t let pass! πŸ˜‰

Then, we enter into the historical fiction genre with two very different books that have absolutely nothing in common except for their gorgeousness!! 😍😍😍 On one hand we’ve got this especial penguin edition of the collection “By Hand” of The HelpΒ by Kathryn Stockett, which I’ve been wanting to read ever since I watched the movie for the first time (*love*). On the other hand, we’ve got a western (a virgin here, I don’t even like western movies, but I’ve heard great things about this one!) Vengeance RoadΒ by Erin Bowman.

Then come the three books I’ve already read and that except for THUG are pending the reviews!

To get into some more contemporary stories I got the highly anticipated (and much talked about) The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas (which review you can find here).

Getting into my favourite genre, we have Night Film by Marisha Pessl (which I still haven’t forgotten and has driven me crazyΒ πŸ˜¬πŸ˜‹) and I See You by Clare Mackintosh (although not as good as her debut, it was a great read!)

Then I finally got some more classics. Aren’t this little black classics cute?? I always want to read more classics but nowadays either I don’t find the time or the mood, so I think this little stories are perfect for that! I got The Tell-Tale Heart by Edgar Allan Poe (whom I’ve heard so much good about and I should have read him before because I think I’ll like that grotesque suspense I’ve heard so much about) and The Beautiful Cassandra and Lady Susan by Jane Austen because she is J. Austen!! πŸ™‚ ;P

And last but not least the only dystopian I’ve gotten on a long while, Ink by Alice Broadway. Yes, this was another cover buy and I bought it thinking it was a standalone so we’ll see if I like it enough to continue with the series/trilogy?ΒΏ?

– – – Β  Β  Β – – –

Fingers crossed for what happens next month because my birthday comes! But somehow I doubt I will go crazy!! πŸ˜‰

12 thoughts on “Book Haul: April

  1. JoanaDuarte says:

    Awesome haul! I just got The Hate You Give too and I’m super excited to get to it! I heard great things about the book everywhere and I saw your awesome review on it too! And I’m so freaking happy about it being a movie and Amanda Stenberg being Starr! I love her!
    I am also super interested in reading Vengeance Road and Night Film!
    I also have to mention that amazing cover for Ink! OMG it’s so freaking gorgeous!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • matxi_books says:

      Hell yeah to everything you said!!! Those covers buys are seriously to die for!! Nigh Film is quite a ride… an interesting and completely different (for me) kind of read and hopefully I’ll be picking up Vengeance Road in a couple of weeks (definitely in may)!

      I’ve only seen Amanda as Rue THG and in Colombiana but she left a mark and I cannot wait to see more of her!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
      You should read it ASAP and you’ll understand what all of the buzz is abaout! πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

