BOOK miniREVIEW: Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

INFORMATION

167572Title:  Before I Fall
Series:  –
Author:  Lauren Oliver
Publisher:  Harper Collins
Published:  February 2017
Language:  English
Format:  Paperback
Pages:  485
ISBN:  9780062656322

***********************************************************************
wordery     29c9dfc2-e5b6-4d15-bc47-bece89873258 amazon-es-elimina-la-opcion-para-beneficiarse-del-truco-para-el-envio-gratuito-originalamazon uk amazoncom-inc-logo***********************************************************************

GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

Genre: Contemporary, Romance, YA.
Goodreads rating: 3.92

What if you had only one day to live? What would you do? Who would you kiss? And how far would you go to save your own life?

Samantha Kingston has it all: the world’s most crush-worthy boyfriend, three amazing best friends, and first pick of everything at Thomas Jefferson High—from the best table in the cafeteria to the choicest parking spot. Friday, February 12, should be just another day in her charmed life.

Instead, it turns out to be her last.

Then she gets a second chance. Seven chances, in fact. Reliving her last day during one miraculous week, she will untangle the mystery surrounding her death—and discover the true value of everything she is in danger of losing.

***********************************************************************

MY REVIEW

4*

It is true that my first encounter with Lauren Oliver was enjoyable but disappointing at the same time. This time around I decided to give her another chance but my expectations were low.  Then cut to my complete enjoyment of this story of friendship and soul-searching in those crazy teen years.

I really enjoyed the Groundhog Day movie, but I was scared this format in a novel wouldn’t translate that well and would end up feeling repetitive and boring. It turns out I was wrong, this wasn’t boring at all. Following Sam’s day was a treat and although she was not perfect I really liked her and appreciated her evolution. Talking about Sam, I understand everything had to happen in a certain amount of time, but the fact that she supposedly changed from her projected self to the real self that she’d been all along in mere 7 days… well, that’s completely unbelievable. This was a negative point for me, because as much as I was feeling part of the story, I was also too incredulous… So yes, Sam changed. You could see she was a good person inside, but not from the beginning. When we met Sam I found her to be this selfish little girl… still I liked her? Her transformation from total-selfish-girl to moderate-selfish-girl took a long time but it finally happened!! 🙌🙌 I was really rooting for her to have her happy ending.
Leaving that behind, this book was full of US high school clichés, so I guess they really are all the same. It reminded me of the movie Mean Girls and their savage environment, but apparently in this case there was no clear IT (most popular and mean) group. Sam and her small group were the most similar thing I could find and still there was no real malice there. The personalities that formed that crucial group were all different and Lindsay (the alpha dog which I didn’t like or feel sympathy for) the force to reckon with, a not so likable brat.

Once upon a time there was a sweet and loyal dimpled guy and a heavily misunderstood and 100% loyal girl… that changed some utterly normal girl, for the better. 🙂

These kind of stories about teens finding themselves and speaking up won’t ever get old. In all I am glad I read this, it was such a quick and entertaining read that if you are a Lauren Oliver fan go ahead and if you are not (like me) I will still encourage you to give this one a try! 😉

IMG_20170501_111130_922

If you like contemporaries and are in the mood. If not, you can go ahead and watch the adaptation Here! I thought I would have seen the movie by now, but not such luck… If I am being completely honest that’s why I read this book in the first place, and why I ordered this tie-in edition (which usually I don’t like, but my crush on Zooey forced me 😋).

2 thoughts on “BOOK miniREVIEW: Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

  1. Joce says:

    This book sounds really good!! I’m always nervous of cliche high school books because I feel like I read a lot of them, but this one sounds different enough (and the mc interesting enough) to make it work.

    Liked by 1 person

    • matxi_books says:

      Yes this is one of those. 😜 You should keep in mind that you almost don’t leave high school at all, but things develop quickly and you end up feeling for them!! 😊😊 You should give it a chance!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

