Musing Mondays: May 15

monday

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by The Purple Booker. This meme asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer each week:

I’m currently reading…
Up next I think I’ll read…
I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
I can’t wait to get a copy of…
I wish I could read ___, but…
I blogged about ____ this past week…

And then also proposes a random question.


This weeks random question is: How do you review your books? Do you review them right away as soon as you finish reading them? Or do you let them wait a bit and do you ever fall behind?


I’ve already answered this but let’s do it! 🙂 I used to post my reviews right after reading it but nowadays it takes me longer to gather my thoughts and try to explain myself in a better way (still I know, I never get it right!hehe). Usually, right after finishing it I throw in some thoughts (mini review) on goodreads, but later I try to write a proper one here! The fact is that in mere days my opinions change, so I think just waiting a bit improves the whole experience, so that you can really think about what you’ve read 😉

– – –

For the not so random prompt, this week’s chosen one is I bought the following book(s) in the past week… 

Last time I answered this prompt my haul was mostly SciFi, but this time (who could have guessed) it’s non-fiction!! I got all three of this for mere 19€ at amazon!! First, I wasn’t planning on getting Unfiltered yet because as you all know I only buy paperbacks and sadly it doesn’t get published until 2018… but it was less than 8€ so I couldn’t say no (yes, I have already read&reviewed it, but I knew I was going to get it, nothing beats a physical book!). Then I decided to finally pick up Helter Skelter because I find everything surrounding this guy fascinating, what a character study. And last but-definitely-not-least The Handmaid’s Tale just because it would be a sin not to! I also wasn’t planning on getting this edition but sale+gorgeous cover… couldn’t say no! I am currently devouring and… OMG!

Here I leave you the goodreads synopsis if you are interested and don’t know about these books yet (which I find quite difficult to believe ;))!!

Unfiltered: No Shame, No Regrets, Just Me by Lily Collins.  Non-Fiction – Biography.

In this groundbreaking debut essay collection, featuring never-before-seen photos, actress Lily Collins—star of Mortal Instruments and the upcoming Rules Don’t Apply—is opening a poignant, honest conversation about the things young women struggle with: body image, self-confidence, relationships, family, dating, and so much more.

For the first time ever, Lily shares her life and her own deepest secrets, underlining that every single one of us experiences pain and heartbreak. We all understand what it’s like to live in the light and in the dark. For Lily, it’s about making it through to the other side, where you love what you see in the mirror and where you embrace yourself just as you are. She’s learned that all it takes is one person standing up and saying something for everyone else to realize they’re not alone.

By turns hilarious and heartbreaking, Lily’s honest voice will inspire you to be who you are and say what you feel. It’s time to claim your voice! It’s time to live your life unfiltered.

Helter Skelter: The True Story of the Manson Murders  by Vincent Bugliosi and Curt Gentry.  Non-Fiction – True Crime.

The shocking true story of the Manson murders, revealed in this harrowing, often terrifying book. Helter Skelter won a Mystery Writers of America Edgar Award in 1975 for Best Fact Crime Book.

On August 9th 1969, seven people were found shot, stabbed and bludgeoned to death in Los Angeles. America watched in fascinated horror as the killers were tried and convicted. But the real questions went unanswered. How did Manson make his ‘family’ kill for him? What made these young men and women kill again and again with no trace of remorse? Did the murders continue even after Manson’s imprisonment?

No matter how much you think you know about this case, this book will still shock you

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood.  Dystopia.

‘It isn’t running away they’re afraid of. We wouldn’t get far. It’s those other escapes, the ones you can open in yourself, given a cutting edge’

Offred is a Handmaid. She has only one function: to breed. If she refuses to play her part she will, like all dissenters, be hanged at the wall or sent out to die slowly of radiation sickness. She may walk daily to the market and utter demure words to other Handmaid’s, but her role is fixed, her freedom a forgotten concept.

Offred remembers her old life – love, family, a job, access to the news. It has all been taken away. But even a repressive state cannot obliterate desire.

Includes exclusive content: In The ‘Backstory’ you can read Margaret Atwood’s account of how she came to write this landmark dystopian novel.

3 thoughts on “Musing Mondays: May 15

Leave a Reply

