Top 5 Wednesdays: Summer Reads

118368

First of all let me explain a bit about this tag in case you don’t know about it. It’s a tag created by Samantha from Toughts on Tomes and Lainey from Ginger Reads Lainey and is a weekly book meme were a topic or theme is chosen and each week you have to choose five books/series/tvshows that fit the description. If you want to check it out here’s the Goodreads group.

·-·-·

#T5W: Summer Reads

“The weather is heating up (for half of the world), so what books remind you of summer and are your quintessential summer reads?”

·-·-·

Interesting week… Everyday I am a less-and-less lover of contemporaries (especially those YA) but I do accept that during the next summer months, with the sun shinning and some trips on the way, reading those kinds of books will come natural, right? I never leave my favourite genres unattended but it’s true that last year I read more than one cute contemporary and I hope I’ll do that too this year, because apparently that’s the only time I find myself in the mood! Another good choice, in case you want to go away but cannot, are adventure books and books that take you on a trip to somewhere you haven’t gone but really want to.

So without further ado, here are my picks for this week (in no particular other):

x

hey giacalone1. Hey Sunshine by Tia Giacalone: This contemporary was the big surprise of last year. It was kind of a soap opera (I hate those) but with truly real and charismatic characters that will steal your heart, no doubt about it! I still have to read the second part and am anxiously waiting for the last installment coming this 2017 (fingers crossed). Here’s the goodreads page.

x

unexpected matson2. The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson: This is a great example of a summer read. This cover screams summer right?? And the content too it’s really enjoyable and fresh. I might have included this book, but to be honest any Morgan Matson book would work perfectly as a summer read! In fact, Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour works even better because it has a road trip!! 🙂 Here’s the goodreads page.

x

dessen books3. Sarah Dessen’s works: Ok, it’s been around 10 years since I read any of her books. In fact I’ve only read two of them (That Summer and Someone Like You) because I was kind of obssesed with a little movie called How To Deal based on them. From what I remember they were really light and easy reads, although of course everything wasn’t perfect. Here’s her goodreads page.

x

the oc combo4. The OC: Not a book but it works perfectly fine!! 😉 It’s not only that it takes part in California (where apparently it’s always summer, well not entirely true but still) and that we get a lot of beach shots. The So Cal richy-rich vibe with these familiesall of the messes they get into (I am looking at you damn Marissa!!) and mainly the characters themselves. It is a must! Here’s the IMDb page.

x

the sisterhood combo5. The Sisterhood by Ann Brashares: Finishing up with a combo full of teen romances, heartbreaks and adventures! I’ve never read (and doubt I will) the books but when I’ve watched the movies and enjoyed them (specially the foreign pieces I won’t lie!). Here’s the series goodreads page and here are the IMDb page for the first and for the second.

x

[All of the photos in this post have been individually taken from google images]
. . .

15 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesdays: Summer Reads

  1. Joce says:

    Sarah Dessen is the quintessential summer author!! All of her books are so fun and light and incredible…..
    I have to say that I read the first half of the first Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants and HATED it. I don’t know why, because at that point in my life I had never DNFed or come close to disliking a single book. It just didn’t do it for me then, but I’d like to come back and try it again, since it’s a contemporary YA classic.

    My T5W: https://writethroughthenight.wordpress.com/2017/05/17/top-5-wednesday-my-not-so-perfect-summer-reads/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. itsareaderslife says:

    Sarah Dessen is my all time favourite author and I particularly love The Truth About Forever and Just Listen. I cannot wait for her new novel coming out next month!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Bebe says:

    I just recently bought The Unexpected Everything and I’ve been waiting for the perfect summer day to pick it up. Also – Sarah Dessen is definitely a summer reads author – her books tend to be light, fluffy, and set on a beach!

    Brianna at Listful Booking

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Summer @ Xingsings says:

    I have to admit that I don’t love The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants books as much as I do the two films. Though, it could be because I saw them before I picked up the original series. And I’m so pleased to see Sarah Dessen on this list. I highly recommend rereading the two you read or trying out other books by her. The Truth About Forever and Just Listen are my top favorites. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The Ravenous Reader's Blog says:

    Great post! I thought The Unexpected Everything was the perfect summer read too. Also, I agree with you on Sarah Dessen’s books. I always thought her books were light and easy read, nothing too special but just perfect enough as summer reads until I read her “Just Listen” and was completely blown away. Since then, I’ve become sort of obsessed about her books. I’m saving Along for the Ride and The Truth About Forever for special reading occasions. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

