Top 5 Wednesdays: Fandoms You Are No Longer In

118368

First of all let me explain a bit about this tag in case you don’t know about it. It’s a tag created by Samantha from Toughts on Tomes and Lainey from Ginger Reads Lainey and is a weekly book meme were a topic or theme is chosen and each week you have to choose five books/series/tvshows that fit the description. If you want to check it out here’s the Goodreads group.

·-·-·

#T5W: Fandoms You Are No Longer In

“Everyone has those fandoms they used to be super invested in, and now are no longer a part of.”

·-·-·

If we are talking about fandoms being completely obsessed with I can think about three (specifically one) and all of them have to do with vampires… Also all of them have been adapted either to the big or small screen, any guesses yet? And nope, the problem is not the vampire per se because I’ve been in the Buffy fandom ever since forever and I am still a proud slayer!
But apart from those right now nothing is coming to mind!! So I’ll just have to pick some random ones, between the countless shows I used to consider part of my family!

 Without further ado, here are my picks for this week (in no particular other):

x

Resultado de imagen de the vampire diaries season 1

1. The Vampire Diaries: In this case I was more of the TV show fandom that I ever was of the original works of L. J. Smith. I read them (well most of them) before starting with the show and although they did a lot of changes adapting it most were for the better. I hadn’t been that invested in the book series but the show was another story. I was completely obsessed with it and our affair went a long way through the years but these last year and especially now, I still have to finish the last season (which I started but left completely when I learnt that my favourite character was passing…) if I ever do that. Life happens, things change and I am just no longer in this family fandom, at all.

x

sookie new eds2. The Southern Vampire Mysteries: This is the clear case of some authors that stretch their series till there really is nothing more to tell, where the reader get all sorts of confused, bored and simply tired of it all. Thsi was another case in which I had previously read the books and then watched and devoured the show. I finished the show and have since rewatched it (Damn Eric!) but I never finished the book series. It’s fun if you think about it because I had only one or two left, I don’t remember. But the trick was that I was confused and didn’t remember but of the previous story so… time passed and I am no longer planning on ever finishing it. I am just not in that fandom any more.

x

x

Resultado de imagen de crepusculo SERIE libros3. Twilight Series: Yes, I was a twihard, a completely obsessed fan that was even in synch with Bella’s depressive states… This were the books and the fandom that started it all and for that I am not ashamed. I am not ashamed to say I was a twilight junkie because these were my reason to start reading like a normal human being… up until then I just didn’t like reading at all! I know people hate these now (funny how popular they were not so long ago…) but hatred is something I’ll never be able to feel for these because they opened a whole new world to me, so although this was has some serious problems and although I am zero invested it now, ten years ago that was NOT the case.

x

Resultado de imagen de bones season 14. Bones:  It is a fact that a followed this show for years and years… until 2014 I guess. When I left for the US and those previous months I kind of left a lot of tv shows because I wasn’t feeling it. This was between those I left and I just never picked it up again. Never say never (specially now that I know it’s over) but I just don’t  know. I guess the fever passed. I am still into procedurals so that wasn’t the reason, it simply went for too long, the storylines came to be predictable and repetitive?

x

x

x

new girl - 2 broke girls5. New Girl & 2 Broke Girls: Some comedies to lighten up the mood… or not. I growed tired of these quicker that I thought I could ever have! 2 Broke Girls wasn’t a favourite of mind it was more like a guilty pleasure because although nonsensical it still brought something to the table (at the beginning). The case of New Girl was more pronounced. I really liked it, I was a fan and was simply delighted every week we got a bit more of these crazy bunch. Don’t know when exactly it happened but I started loosing interested and after finishing (?¿?) who knows which season I completely lost interest in the whole thing.

x

I am pretty sure after posting this thing will start coming to my mind, but for now those are the main three fandoms I was really into (with blogs/forums and every sort of thing dedicated to them in the case of twilight) plus 2/3 extras!! I was not so much in the fandome per se of the last one(s) but nothing better came to mind 😉

[All of the photos in this post have been individually taken from google images]

20 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesdays: Fandoms You Are No Longer In

  1. Ellen says:

    Oh Bones!!! I watched it until they got together and that sort of spoiled it for me 😉 I loved the will they, won’t they thing they had going on (I’m a sucker for those things)..

    I watch 2 Broke Girls every now and again when I want a good laugh 🙂 Kat Dennings is amazing!! I adore her!

    Liked by 1 person

    • matxi_books says:

      OMG Yes!! I remember watching the first season and seeing the connection between those too… There was such electricity everyrime they were together!! And I felt how the show runners wanted to keep that down so that they could play with that storyline for longer… But by the time they decided to put them together I just found that that connection, so strong at the beginning, was non existent but that time… 😕

      Like

Leave a Reply

