TOP 5 WEDNESDAYS: Books Without Romance

118368

First of all let me explain a bit about this tag in case you don’t know about it. It’s a tag created by Samantha from Toughts on Tomes and Lainey from Ginger Reads Lainey and is a weekly book meme were a topic or theme is chosen and each week you have to choose five books/series/tvshows that fit the description. If you want to check it out here’s the Goodreads group.

·-·-·

#T5W: Books Without Romance

“A few (very, very few) people complained about the “shipping” topics lately, so I thought it would be good to talk about books that don’t have a romantic subplot! This is a really hard one, so if you can’t find any, you can talk about some where the romance is super super minor. Like barely mentioned… at all…”

·-·-·

Yes! I love this topic! Every day I am growing even less fond of romance stories. There’s a time for everything, but right now I am not in the mood for them, so I don’t appreciate when, specially in YA, they force romance even when it isn’t needed for the plot itself.

 Without further ado, here are my picks for this week (in no particular other):

x

city of saints anderson1. City of Saints and Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson: Given it is a YA I was dreading the possibility of romance being part of this coming of age story, but I am glad to say that there was virtually none. In fact I appreciated that little (given that treating with teenagers it would be hard to imagine a world without infatuation) which was certainly almost non-existent, thank god!! 🙂 🙂

x

thug thomas.jpg2. The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas: Another great example of a well told YA story. In this one, there’s a bit more of a romance, but it isn’t crucial to the story. It works because it represents the bridge that connects our heroine to her other posh/white world. It is an enjoyable one, but this story would have worked also if that relationship had been a friendship instead.

x

night film pessl3. Night Film by Marisha Pessl: This thrilling, anguishing and exhausting novel does not have but a pinch of romance and that amount is only heard of instead of lived by the reader. I wasn’t expecting romance when I went into this and I’m glad I did not, because everything surrounding this was already too cryptic to add to it more unneccessary drama.

x

not a drop mcginnis4. Not A Drop To Drink by Mindy McGinnis: Another coming of age story that comes in a not-so-far futuristic but very realistic dystopian earth. Ok, strictly speaking there was the romance factor, but I think it was dealed with very wisely because I almost forgot it! Maybe it was the fact that I was mesmorized by the heroine herself but I didn’t mind it, it actually helped her grow even more.

x

killing floor child5. Killing Floor by Lee Child: No better way to finish this story with a master of the art. Jack Reacher’s first adventure had no romance, like the rest. Ok, he has the occasional fling but that’s only human. He ends up interacting with different characters here and there but still I enjoy his stories more when there’s less sexual tention in the environment.

x

[All of the photos in this post have been individually taken from google images]

8 thoughts on “TOP 5 WEDNESDAYS: Books Without Romance

  1. MiRakelBooks says:

    I appreciate books that don’t have romance in them. Romance is not my favorite parts of books, even though I like them some times. I need to be in the right mood. Night Film sounds really interesting and have been on my wish list for years. 🙂 Great picks 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • matxi_books says:

      Exactly! Especially in YA apparently romance is a must, but if it’s not a dance novel and it doesn’t add anything to the story… Once upon a time I used to love it, but not anymore… 😊😉

      Liked by 1 person

    • matxi_books says:

      It really is!!! I wrote yesterday my review, after a month… So I know it isn’t great, but I devoured it and felt so much for it!! And I am so grateful they didn’t go the so-obvious-way between Tina&Michael!! I mean the background was there and it was obvious something was going to happen but I am so glad it got thrown to the back!! 😊😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

