TOP 5 WEDNESDAYS: Children’s Books

118368

First of all let me explain a bit about this tag in case you don’t know about it. It’s a tag created by Samantha from Toughts on Tomes and Lainey from Ginger Reads Lainey and is a weekly book meme were a topic or theme is chosen and each week you have to choose five books/series/tvshows that fit the description. If you want to check it out here’s the Goodreads group.

·-·-·

#T5W: Children’s Books

“This can include Middle Grade (but try to recommend more than just Harry Potter and Percy Jackson!) Feel free to talk about your childhood faves or more recent reads. ”

·-·-·

Well, this is going to be a very hard list because I don’t remember what I used to read as a child, and when most of you were devouring books I was hating them so… At the end things started to pop up in my mind, thank god, otherwise this would have been a pretty sad #T5W …

I took the “children’s books” to the letter because except for one, the rest of books that made the list are for little kids, no HP or anything like it (in fact, I still haven’t read those!! :/). I am pretty sure most of you won¡t even know of much of these books. If I am correct some are strickly spanish or basque, except for Disney (which is universally known) and Asterix & Obelix which is of french origin. Of course all of my childhood books were in basque and spanish, no english language ones for this late bloomer!haha 😉

  Without further ado, here are my picks for this week (in no particular other):

x

Resultado de imagen de disney logo

1. Disney’s fairytales: Who hasn’t grown up reading these? I know I am not alone, but I also know I wouldn’t buy these nowadays because I don’t agree with their portrayals of either women or men.

Resultado de imagen de asterix y obelix

2. Asterix & Obelix comics by René Goscinny: Ok, this collection was actually my brothers but I don remember stealing them, reading and laughing like crazy, those are all of the memories I have about this too crazies! 😉

Resultado de imagen de basque mythologyImagen relacionada

 

 

 

 

 

3. Basque mythology and classics: We, like a rich country, have our own mythology, a very insteresting and magical one indeed. These stories are full of creepy creatures, witches and all sorts of stuff and they were the ones I could find around home.

Resultado de imagen de libros teo

4. Teo & … adventures by Violeta Denou: I cannot believe I almost forgot about these! I don’t know if I had the whole collection but certainly I had plenty. You basically followed a kid name Teo around. As you can see by the picture these were prety childish books.

Resultado de imagen de celia lo que dice alianza editorial        Resultado de imagen de libros celia elena fortun

5. Celia & … her adventures/life by Elena Fortun: I can’t believe I almost forgot about little Celia! I grew up with her and not only with her books but also with the tv adaptation! You basically got to follow the little girl called Celia through all of her life and grew up just like she did.

x

[All of the photos in this post have been individually taken from google images]

2 thoughts on “TOP 5 WEDNESDAYS: Children’s Books

Leave a Reply

