Musing Mondays: June 5

I know, I know, once again this post is coming late… but yesterday instead of a musing monday my head was all about the migraine monday so I couldn’t even stand the computer or any electronics… so today I am coming once again with a double post!! (coming later this afternoon)

– · – · –

monday

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by The Purple Booker. This meme asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer each week:

I’m currently reading…
Up next I think I’ll read…
I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
I can’t wait to get a copy of…
I wish I could read ___, but…
I blogged about ____ this past week…

And then also proposes a random question.


This weeks random question is: Have you ever read a book where you needed more answers to the story? Where maybe the ending was just way to open ended and you wanted to yell a the author about it? What book was it?


Well I know I won’t be able to answer this properly… because I have that sensation in the back of my head. The sensation is that I know a lot of books have left that same feeling in me but I just cannot remember any of them! Does this ever happen to you?? It happens a lot to me, having everything in the tip of my tongue but being able to mouth it out… Right now I can only mention two but I know there are lots more! For once Jane Steele left me wanting more of the characters I’ve grown accustomed to (but not because the story was lacking, only because I wanted more!) in the same way as A Madness So Discreet (that presented us characters that could have livep up for much longer, a series even?? 😉 ) did. And the second would have to be The Handmaid’s Tale, I was expecting more from this thanks to all of the buzz surrounding it, and that ending (which only got clearer by the end) left me wanting so much more, more explanations as to what happened, how things changed… about so much more!

This week’s chosen one (and repeating myself again, yes) is I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)… my latest discovery Pierre Lemaitre!! He is a french author and although I’ve only read one of his novels (Irene, reviews coming soon) it has had a big impact in me. I’ve been recommending it around because I think it’s such a unique and fantastic read… but beware because it’s not an easy read (or author for that). The raw, real and cringe worthy way this man has to introduce himself into a maniac’s mind… it’s certainly scary and horrific! But with thta said, I need to continue with the series he created, but I am going to ration it because… well you’ll understand it if you get to any of his books (which you should, by the way… 😉 )!!

Here’s Lemaitre’s The Brigade Criminelle series’, which follows Camille Verhœven, first book’s synopsis via goodreads:

Irène (Verhœven, #1)

For Commandant Verhoeven life is beautiful: he is happily married, expecting his first child with the lovely Irène.
But his blissful existence is punctured by a murder of unprecedented savagery. Worse still, the press seem to have it in for him – his every move is headline news. When he discovers that the killer has killed before – that each murder is a homage to a classic crime novel – the fourth estate are quick to coin a nickname… The Novelist…
With both men in the public eye, the case develops into a personal duel, each hell-bent on outsmarting the other. There can only be one winner – whoever has the least to lose…

2 thoughts on “Musing Mondays: June 5

  1. Beware Of The Reader says:

    Well I would not be able to answer either. I hope your migraine is gone. I know it’s really incapacitating as my daughter suffers from migraines too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment