Calendar Girls: May

calendar-girls-icon

First of all for all of you who don’t know about this, it is a brand new tag created by Flavia @ Flavia the Bibliophile and Melanie @ Melanie Noell Bernard Books. It’s a monthly blog event inspired by Neil Sedaka’s 1961 song Calendar Girl, where every month a specific theme will be picked up and you’ll have to read a book you find fit into that theme and then incite discussions with other bloggers.

This month’s theme is Best Sequel!!

· · ·

It’s been a couple of months since I took part on Calendar Girls! My own fault, for not reading that much and not having where to choose from without being super repetitive!! 🙂 😋

Let’s get started!! This one could be a controversial prompt given that it is worldwide known that sequels are never (or usually they are not) as good as the originals, right?¿?
A random though that just crossed my mind, if the sequel(s) isn’t as good as the previous one maybe it is because there was no need of a sequel?¿? Or definitely not a need of extensive sequels?¿? Yes, I am looking at you The 5th Wave 👀👀 (just to name one)

Leaving that behind, searching my story I’ve read quite a few of series and I have to choose because in more than one case they got better and better and better!!! List on contenders: The Royals (I found the second to be better than the first one, but the last one was a mess…), Jacaby series (the first and second were OK but the third one was an improvement and I can only hope even more for the fourth and last one!), Reboot duology (another clear improvement! Yes, duologies do exist!! 😂😂), The Grisha Trilogy (this one got much better with every book, I still don’t love it like people do but I liked it), Bridget Jones (another case of the royals, the second one ↑↑ but the third one ↓↓↓), If I Stay (another pleasant surprise, that writing…), You duology, TMI series…
Sorry for all of this rambling!! These up here may be some clear examples but I had very clear in my head there were only two contenders…

1413818195_grhdd3_3qsuf

  The Parasol Protectorate by Gail Carriger and Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead. How to choose between this two… were that was another story…

the-parasol-protectorate2For once, I think The Parasol Protectorate is the never-ending story. In each novel, we get a bigger glimpse into this lovely arrange of character (that I completely love and miss so much, if you hadn’t noticed) and the story evolves, where things get harder and riskier. Yes, I liked better the second book (ehem… Scotland… ehem) and the rest of the series got even better (although maybe I am not entirely objective with this one 😚😚😚). But thinking about it know, maybe there wasn’t such a huge step from the first book, to the second and so on?? I am so indecisive!! The main plot changes along but the central point in this series are the characters, whose evolution is so patent and the most important thing, for me. You can find my reviews in this thread 😉 !!

vampireacademykindlebooksOn the other side (but still with vampire involved?¿? Umm…) there’s Vampire Academy. This series brought to life one of my BFs, Miss Rose Hathaway!! And only for that I’ll always be grateful, Read 😉 .  Int his case the series got more complicated, the relationship evolved in this action packet series in a way I can’t  make my mind forget about it. The character evolution was so clear and although my favourite one (I think, didn’t I say I was indecisive?¿) has to be the 4th Shadow Kiss (ehem… Russian adventures… ehem), where everything gets even darker, but in the second one (the proper sequel) we also get a lot of action, darkness and dread. I adore this whole series and like the previous one this is a clear example of a series done right, were you get more that you bargained for and the plot and characters keep you engaged 100% !!!

I think I reasoned/rambled enough, so let’s give it up for Mr. Drum Roll !!

tumblr_mgvx4qvpox1rr3m8ao1_500

Vampire Academy !!!  Frostbite by Richelle Mead !!!

· · ·

Next month’s theme will be Best Shakespeare Play!!! 

[Hard?¿? No, more like impossible!! I’ve never read a play, and even lest Shakespeare, so if I have to I’ll go reasoning with some movie… although I am not sure if I haven’t watched one!haha]

· · ·

Other participants you should definitely check out!!

Flavia @ Flavia the Bibliophile  with ACOMAF by Sarah J Maas

  Melanie @ MN Bernard Books with Specials by Scott Westerfeld

Deanna @ Deanna Writes About with Second Helpings by Megan McCafferty

Mandy @ Book Princess Reviews with A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi

Lauren @ Two Birds, One Blog with Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling

Thai @ Read Breath Repeat with Unleashed by Sophie Jordan

Shanah @ Bionic Book Work with Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Darque Dreamer Reads with Hunting Prince Dracula by Kerri Maniscalco

All images and gifs taken from Google.

23 thoughts on “Calendar Girls: May

  1. Flavia says:

    Wow! It definitely looks as if you’ve had a tougher choice this month than I did! I shall quit my whining, haha! I need to check out both of the series which made it to the final round. I’ve never heard of The Parasol Protectorate series before, but it definitely sounds like my cup of tea, and I’ve heard about Vampire Academy many many times before, but will have to wait until I’m into vampire books again before I start reading it (hehe).

    Great post Matxi! And thanks again for participating in Calendar Girls! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • matxi_books says:

      He he I discovered VA in the summer of 2015 and had to reread them in the summer of 2016… Maybe this summer I do it again and I make it a tradition!!haha I wasn’t that much into vamps when I picked it up but I found it so addictive… Truly!! You better to it or else… 😂😂😂 😜

      Liked by 1 person

    • matxi_books says:

      Thank you!! It is, isn’t it?¿? I literally devoured them all!! Non stop!! First time I read them all in 10 days! And a year later I was forced (by myself) to reread them!hahaha

      Like

  2. Melanie Noell Bernard says:

    To be honest, I did not like Where She Went. I know what was one of the books you were choosing from and I just… no. I didn’t think it offered anywhere near the quality of story as If I Stay. Then again, I also didn’t care to read from his POV. He was… such a whiny b*tch. -.-

    Hahaha! I haven’t actually read either of the series you were deciding between. The first because I never got into Steampunk. It’s such a niche genre and I like the aesthetic more than the actual story lines. :/ And the second probably because I was off by a friend in high school. She was obsessed and told me everything that was going on to the point that I just… didn’t care anymore. :p Plus it all sounded like romance. Perhaps I’m wrong, though??

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beware Of The Reader says:

    I loved this series! I remember that I read the last one on New Year’s Eve and did not sleep at all that night as I had first to come back home from the celebration and then of course READ MY BOOK! I loved, loved , loved the series. Now on the other hand I hated the movie. I was so disappointed with most actors 😦 Great choice! And next month I’ll have the same problem as I’ve never watched any Shakespear creation … I guess I’ll go with Romeo and Juliet and try to find some book featuring the same topic: forbidden love 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • matxi_books says:

      hahaha you stole my idea!!haha I was actually gonna go probably with some adaptations about Romeo&Juliet because I doubt I’ll read any shakespeare (for the first time) this month!hehe
      I know whta you mean about the movie, no, it was not great but I did really enjoy it! Zooey Deustch turned out to be a great choice (in my opinion) and I’ve grown to have a huge crush on her!hehe

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment